National Enterprise Architecture Framework Portal
National Enterprise Architecture Framework

Welcome to NEAF

This website has been established to cover all the areas associated with the National Enterprise Architecture Framework (NEAF), currently in progress by a dedicated team within the eGovernment Authority. It is worth mentioning that NEAF project received a honorable award from the United Nation Public Administration Network (UNPAN) in 2010.

In collaboration with NEAF, two projects are progressing where the first project is devoted towards eServices Standards that acts as an obligation factor for any government entity willing to provide an eService through Bahrain Portal. The second project is dedicated towards providing a set of Website Standards which have been approved by the Supreme Committee for Information and Communication Technology (SCICT), aiming to provide a high degree of consistency throughout all government websites.

Enterprise Architecture (EA)

+ About EA & Benefits
This section provides an overview of Enterprise Architecture (EA) along with its key benefits.

+ Standards & Guidelines
A set of Technology Standards and Guidelines for increased interoperability and integration across kingdom's organizations.

+ EA Support
All queries regarding EA are welcome. The National EA Team will assist you.

More Button More Button
Website Standards

The objective of Website Standards is to introduce a level of consistency throughout all Government websites in terms of positioning and functionality of key website elements and to promote the Government identity of the Kingdom, therefore making it easier for users to identify Bahrain government entities’ websites.

Additionally, a potential advantage will be achieved which is to ensure reduced development and website maintenance costs.

Moreover, a variety of web validation tools are available for ministries to assist in developing defect-free and high quality websites.

More Button More Button
eServices Standards

eServices Standards are language-specific programming rules that greatly reduce the probability of introducing errors during the service development life cycle.

These standards are originated from the intensive study of industry experts who analyzed how bugs were generated when code was written and correlated these bugs to specific coding practices.

This section includes CSS guidelines, Java standards, User Interface standards, C# .NET coding standards, and Java/J2EE naming conventions.

More Button More Button


15/05/2015 - ICTGC Develops Enterprise Architecture and Strategic ICT Planning Tools for Government

ICTGC Develops Enterprise Architecture and Strategic ICT Planning Tools for Government
The National Information and Communication Technology of eGovernance Committee (ICTGC) has praised the collaborative efforts exerted by ministerial and governmental entities during 2014. The notable achievements of the committee are the Enterprise Architecture Maturity Program and the Strategic IT Planning, which resulted in standardizing technologies and IT strategy development methodology across governmental entities, as well as major reduction of duplicated government processes.

12/01/2015 - A New Release of Website Development Standards

Website Standards and Guidelines 

The Website Standards and Guidelines have been updated, aiming to ensure a high degree of consistency and uniformity of government websites. The updated version includes clear methods on new domains such as Web Accessibility in order to provide equal access and equal opportunity to people with disabilities. The updated version also includes Web Optimization Guidelines to improve the performance of government websites, which is directly translated into better user experience, repeated site visits and improved customer satisfaction.

View the Website Standards

04/12/2013 - A New Release of Technology Standards and Guidelines for Government Entities

A New Release of Technology Standards and Guidelines for Government Entities

During the 11th meeting of the ICT Governance Committee (ICTGC), the committee has approved an updated version of Technology Standards and Guidelines - aiming to have a unified set of standards that are aligned with the current usage across the government entities and the latest technology trends, while supporting the National eGovernment Strategy 2016. The updated version includes new domains such as Business, Mobile and Social Media, as well as various revamps in the existing domains.

View the Technology Standards & Guidelines

30/05/2013 - Bahrain Participates in the Enterprise Architecture Forum in Saudi Arabia

Bahrain Participates in the Enterprise Architecture Forum in Saudi Arabia
The Enterprise Architecture Governance team at eGovernment Authority participated in the Enterprise Architecture Forum organized by Saudi Arabia’s eGovernment program (Yesser) under the patronage of the Minister of Communications and Information Technology on 27 May 2013 in Riyadh. During the event, Dr. Ali Alsoufi, EA Project Director,  presented a paper focusing on Bahrain’s experience in the development and execution of the National Enterprise Architecture Framework (NEAF) across various government entities.